Jinggoy hails PH kickboxing team

(PNA) MANILA – Senator Jinggoy Estrada on Wednesday filed a resolution to commend Filipino kickboxers for winning medals in the 2022 Asian Kickboxing Championship held in Bangkok, Thailand earning them slots to compete in the 2023 World Combat Games to be held in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

In his Senate Resolution No, 393, or an “Act seeking commendation for Filipino Kickboxers”, Estrada said “our fighters showed their might, high caliber, and athletic excellence that resulted in the impressive medal haul of the country in the prestigious tilt.”

“The Filipino fighters and warriors in the elite kickboxing competition embodied the unyielding courage, resilience, and indomitable spirit of the nation confronted with adversities and formidable challenges. Their successful outing and victory in the international arena brought immense pride, glory, and honor to the country, and inspiration to our fellowmen, hence, merit commendation from the Senate,” he said

The 14-man team brought home four gold, one silver and six bronze medals.

Jovan Medallo, a 22-year-old farmer from Cebu City, snatched the first gold medal as he dominated the Senior Men’s Creative Musical Form with Weapons category followed by Renalyn “Renz” Dacquel, from Abra province.

Dacquel copped the gold in the Women’s Low Kick -48 kg event while Jean Claude “The Dynamite” Saclag and Gina Iniong-Araos ruled the Men’s Low Kick -63.5 kg event and Women’s Low Kick -60 kg event, respectively.

Karol Maguide was awarded a silver medal in the Men’s Full Contact -54 kg event.

The six bronze medalists were Ralph Chein Yosorez in the Women’s Musical Form Hard Style category, Gretel de Paz in the Women’s Low Kick -56 kg event, Jomar Balangui in the Men’s Low Kick -57 kg class, Kurt Lubrica in the Men’s Low Kick -51 kg event, Claudine Veloso in the Women’s Point Fighting -55 kg category, and Carlos Alvarez in the Men’s Point fighting -69 kg division.

Estrada said copies of the resolution will be given not only to each of the Filipino medalists but also to their respective coaches and trainers. (With a report from Leonel Abasola/PNA)