Jinggoy Honors Romy Vitug’s Unparalleled Artistry: A Great Loss To The Film Industry

(POLITIKO) Sen. Jinggoy Ejercito Estrada pays tribute to the late cinematographer Romy Vitug, celebrating his unparalleled artistry and significant contributions to Philippine cinema in a Senate resolution filed after Vitug’s recent passing.

  • Senator Jinggoy Ejercito Estrada files a Senate resolution honoring the late cinematographer Romy Vitug for his exceptional artistry and contribution to Philippine cinema.
  • Vitug, known for his creativity and technical proficiency, received numerous accolades, including a Cinemanila International Filmfest lifetime achievement award in 2000 and Natatanging Gawad Urian in 2016.
  • The resolution recognizes Vitug’s indispensable role in effectively telling the stories of the Filipino people through his work with acclaimed directors and his impact on the film industry.

Sen. Jinggoy Ejercito Estrada has filed a Senate resolution that seeks to recognize late cinematographer Romeo “Romy” Vitug.

“Vitug’s unparalleled artistry and eye for detail, uncompromising commitment to excellence, and mastery of the craft make him one of the leading figures in Philippine cinema who immensely contributed to its enrichment and advancement. His passing is a great loss to the film industry and the Filipino nation,” said Estrada on Thursday (Jan. 25).

The senator filed the resolution on Monday (Jan. 22) following the passing of Vitug last Jan. 18 after having succumbed to cancer at the age of 86.

“Vitug’s exceptional creativity and technical proficiency honed through many years of hard work, innovation and discipline were indispensable moviemaking skills in effectively telling the stories of the Filipino people,” said Estrada.

The senator said Vitug gained numerous accolades and distinctions over the decades.

Among which, the lawmaker cited that Vitug was honored with a Cinemanila International Filmfest lifetime achievement award in 2000, Natatanging Gawad Urian in 2016, and Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Hall of Fame award in 2019.

Vitug also worked in films that were directed by National Artists for Film Lino Brocka and Marilou Diaz-Abaya, Celso Ad Castillo, Carlitos Siguion-Reyna, Laurice Guillen, and Olivia M. Lamasan.